Menu Search
Niamh Briggs, Garda
Security, Defence & Law Enforcement

Niamh Briggs, Garda

Niamh Briggs is a Community Garda based in Limerick. She completed a degree in Exercise & Health Studies in WIT prior to joining An Gardaí Síochána. Niamh is captain of the Irish women's rugby team and intends to sit her Sergeant exams in the coming year.

Ask me your
first question!

What were the main 'career decision' milestones in your life so far?

Apart from joining the Garda Síochána itself, joining Community Policing as it’s a role I have enjoyed. I love that I am more involved with the local community and provide an outlet for them.

Who are the people who most influenced your career direction?

My work colleagues who I work with on a day to day basis, and my supervisors to date.

How did you go about getting your current job?

Community Policing was an area that always interested me and when a vacancy came up, I applied through my Sergeant and my application was accepted.

Describe a typical day?

There is no typical day in An Garda Síochána there is huge variety in the job. We could be doing anything from walking the beat to attending community meetings to visiting schools or being involved in the regular policing of the district which involve arrests, searches and interviewing.

What are the main tasks and responsibilities?

Our main tasks are to build up a rapport with members of the community and to provide a friendly face to those who need it.

What are the main challenges?

The main challenges are ones that effect society as a whole today, poverty, homelessness and trying to police the increasing rate of crime.

What's cool?

I love the variety that comes with this job, not knowing who you are going to meet or what you may come across. I also love that more often than not I get to work outdoors and meet so many different characters.

What's not so cool?

The unpredictable nature of the job has its benefits but on occasions can affect pre-made plans with family or friends.

What particular skills do you bring to your workplace?

I am a good communicator, friendly personality and have a positive outlook. I also have computer and typing skills which assists me with my day to day job.

What subjects did you take in school and how have these influenced your career path?

I took all the mainstream subjects along with French, Biology, Geography and Business Studies.

What is your education to date?

After my Leaving Cert I completed a degree in Exercise & Health Studies before joining the Gardaí.

What aspects of your education have proven most important for your job?

My schooling and college experience have helped me deal with the public and situations that I encounter everyday in my job.

What have been the most rewarding events in your career so far?

Organising an outlet for young kids from Limerick Regeneration Areas to partake in sports such as rugby and soccer has been very rewarding.

What personal qualities do you have that helps you in your career?

I have an outgoing personality and can show compassion when the need arises.

What is your dream job?

I am presently doing my dream job in Community Policing but in the future I’d like to have some involvement with training in the job.

Does your job allow you to have a lifestyle you are happy with?

Yes, its very important to have a good balance between work and other interests in your life.

What advice would you give to someone considering this job?

I would advise to any young person to go to college first and/or travelling and gain some life experience as this will help you deal/cope with situations a lot better.

What are the three most important personal characteristics required for the job?

I think the three most important characteristics that are required for the job include being outgoing/assertive, being able to keep calm in pressure situations and be able to show compassion or empathy in any situation.

What is your pet hate at work?

My pet hate at work is having to deal with violent prisoners.

Have you undertaken, or do you plan to undertake any further training as part of your job?

I intend to sit my Sergeant Exams this year.

What kinds of work experience would provide a good background for this position?

I think any type of work that involves dealing with the public will be good experience for anyone looking to become a member of An Garda Síochána.

What is your current job title?

I took all the mainstream subjects along with French, Biology, Geography and Business Studies.

Ask a question about...
  • Career Development?
  • Current Job?
  • Education and Training?
  • Personal Qualities?
  • Advice for Others?