Menu Search
Nan Hu , Garda
Security, Defence & Law Enforcement

Nan Hu , Garda

Nan Hu has been a member of An Garda Síochána for eight years. He is attached to the Bridewell Garda Station's mountain bike unit. As a Chinese national, Nan is often called upon for his language skills which are of great benefit to him within the organisation.

Ask me your
first question!

What were the main 'career decision' milestones in your life so far?

My career decision milestone was leaving the hospitality industry and taking up two years of training in Garda College and becoming a member of An Garda Siochana.

Who are the people who most influenced your career direction?

The people who influenced who my career directions are my parents and friends. They also give me advice and support whenever I need them.

How did you go about getting your current job?

I had applied for my position through in 2006. After the written test, interview and physical test, I took up training in the Garda College. After graduation in 2008 I was assigned to the Bridewell Garda Station in Dublin and I have been working there for the last 7 years.

Describe a typical day?

After being paraded by my supervisor at 7 am I would usually head out on the mountain bike patrolling around the district. I would inspect shops, post offices, off licences, and public houses and interact with the public and local community dealing with any issues they may have.

I would investigate crimes, taking statements and collecting CCTV footages. I would respond to calls such as public misconduct and theft incidents.

During my meal break sometimes I would go to the gym in my station to keep fit. After the meal break I would patrol the district again. At the end of the tour I would record the incidents which I responded to on our computer system. I would do a report in relation to any issues highlighted by the community.

What are the main tasks and responsibilities?

Dealing with all aspects of policing; Traffic Duties; Crime Prevention; Prison Section Duties; Administrative Duties; Attending Court; Assisting Court Presenters; Protections Posts; Serving the Public.

What are the main challenges?

I think it is extremely difficult to keep abreast of the new types of crimes such as cyber crime. It is also difficult to investigate such incidents.

What's cool?

I really like the different activities and duties I engage everyday and I like helping people on daily basis. For example I could be working in the public office or patrolling the district in a patrol car or be on foot patrol and doing my personal favourite; mountain bike patrol.

What's not so cool?

I really don’t like going to a scene that involves casualties or serious injuries. I don’t like bringing bad news to a family. It can be very upsetting for a number of days.

What particular skills do you bring to your workplace?

As a Chinese national I bring my language skill to the organisation. I have facilitated many of my colleagues in dealing with Chinese nationals.

What subjects did you take in school and how have these influenced your career path?

I studied Tourism, Management and Language in college. Because I like to help people I think it was very beneficial that the subjects I took provided me with the necessary knowledge to communicate with people and to deal with the general public.

What is your education to date?

I have studied for a Bachelor Arts in Hospitality Management and Bachelor of Arts In Policing Studies.

What aspects of your education have proven most important for your job?

I think report writing and communication skills are essential for my job.

What have been the most rewarding events in your career so far?

I think the most rewarding part of my career to date is helping people. It is an invaluable and indescribable sensation when someone shakes my hand and says ‘thank you Garda'.

What personal qualities do you have that helps you in your career?

I am diligent, friendly and disciplined and I think these qualities help me with my career.

What is your dream job?

I am very active so I would like to see myself being involved in an active unit such as Garda Regional Support Unit. I am also planning to take the Sergeant’s examination, maybe I would like to join the management team someday.

Does your job allow you to have a lifestyle you are happy with?

Yes. I have a very active life style. I like running climbing, hiking and travelling. Unlike other professions, I work six days then have four days off.

This allows me to go on a small camping trip or to take a long hike somewhere down the countryside. Our annual flexible leave system is also very flexible as it allows me to arrange my holidays well in advance.

What advice would you give to someone considering this job?

I would advise those considering the job to be patient and to be good at what you are doing and when the opportunity comes to join An Garda Siochana just take it!.

If you are part of a minority group in Ireland and considering joining An Garda Síochána then my advice to you is to go for it because as a foreign national working in the organisation I promise there is no discrimination in An Garda Síochána.

What are the three most important personal characteristics required for the job?

I think the most important personal characteristics are to be courteous, friendly and have a great sense of humour.

What is your pet hate at work?

My pet hate at the work place would be changing uniforms multiple times in one day because of the weather.

Have you undertaken, or do you plan to undertake any further training as part of your job?

I am open to all education opportunities in terms of professional and self development. I have applied to undertake Garda Public Order and advanced driving training. I am also planning to take the Sergeant Exams.

What kinds of work experience would provide a good background for this position?

I believe jobs involving dealing with general public such as in the tourism and hospitality industry would provide great back ground and some essential experience for a job in An Garda Síochána.

What is your current job title?


Ask a question about...
  • Career Development?
  • Current Job?
  • Education and Training?
  • Personal Qualities?
  • Advice for Others?